DEV Community

Reid Aumann
Reid Aumann

Posted on

Building a Rails App from Scratch

I'm building my first rails app from scratch right now and I've been learning a lot. I'm designing it entirely in custom CSS (I know, it sounds a little crazy) and I spoke with my mentor who is a UI/UX designer about improvements in styling.

I also am learning a lot about my different routes and implementing authorizations so users can only access the pages they're supposed to. I am using the Pundit gem which I have a better understanding of now.

Setting up my entity relationship diagram and my associations was the step that made me the most nervous. I did it correctly for my first version, but now that I wish to add columns to my database I'm a little anxious about breaking it.

I feel that the most I've learned is by far in user research and feedback. As I'm developing I've been asking users about different search filters and features they might want and I'm currently working on adding those in.

If you want to see my project so far you can visit it at right2restrooms.com or my Github Repository and feel free to send me feedback!

Top comments (0)