DEV Community

Rex Anthony
Rex Anthony

Posted on • Updated on

Why Web Analytics?

A person holding an iPad
Metrics 📈 don't have any biases or expectations. Many managers instinctively use their intuition or their "gut feeling" to make key business decisions. While there's nothing wrong with following your gut, there's no way to argue with numbers. They are black ⚫ and white ⚪.

There is an increasing demand by people for privacy and security while online this goes against the surveillance capitalism business model of the established companies today such as Google analytics who profit from selling the personal data of its users to advertisers.

People have now recognized that if they are not paying for a product, they are the product.

A number of Google analytics alternatives have sprung up all of them catering to different people such as Page Insight, Splitbee, Plausible, Fathom etc.

I have used different website analytics platforms and the one that really meet my requirement is Page Insight Analytics. It is privacy friendly, GDPR compliant. It easy to integrate into my website, the user interface is very easy to understand. I love the fact that it gives me all the data I need in a single page. This saves me the time of having to go through several layers of menus or through the headache of creating a custom report as is usually the case with other web analytics platforms. I can track an unlimited number of website. I also get weekly and monthly email notifications to inform me about the status of my websites. If there is a traffic spike on my website, I receive a notification and so much more.

The metrics collected by these web analytics platforms give website owners into what is happening on their website. This will guide them in knowing what aspect of the business to focus and put more effort in improving. The old ways of using your gut feeling to predict what is happening in your business is not going to cut it going forward.

Top comments (0)