DEV Community

Cover image for Submission for DEV Challenge v24.03.20: CSS Art - Favorite Snack
P V D SIVA KRISHNA
P V D SIVA KRISHNA

Posted on

Submission for DEV Challenge v24.03.20: CSS Art - Favorite Snack

For this challenge, I decided to highlight everyone's favorite snack - the classic chocolate chip cookie!

Inspiration

Demo

https://codepen.io/SHIVA-6699/pen/ZEZyWVV

Journey

Creating this chocolate chip cookie using only CSS was a delightful challenge. I focused on getting the colors, shadows, and animations just right to make it look as delicious as possible. I used box-shadow creatively to add depth to the cookie and employed CSS animations to make the chocolate chips fall in a natural, enticing manner.

One thing I learned during this process was how to use pseudo-elements (::before and ::after) effectively to create additional visual elements without cluttering the HTML. I also experimented with the timing and easing functions of CSS animations to achieve a realistic chip-falling effect.

I'm particularly proud of how realistic the final result looks, considering it's entirely made with CSS. Next, I'd like to explore more complex CSS animations and perhaps create a whole set of different snacks using similar techniques.

Top comments (0)