DEV Community

Ero Stefano
Ero Stefano

Posted on

How do you create PDFs and why did you choose that tech?

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
azettl profile image
Andreas

Usually, using PDFreactor or Weasyprint depends on the use case, which uses CSS Paged Media so HTML to PDF with some nice print features.

PDFreactor is more advanced but paid, so for smaller or private projects using Weasyprint (OpenSource).

Collapse
 
stefanoero profile image
Ero Stefano

Actually I also prefer creating a HTML file and then converting it to a PDF. This is the open source version for Java github.com/wooio/htmltopdf-java.

Collapse
 
azettl profile image
Andreas

The issue I have with wkhtmltopdf and many other HTML to PDF tools is that they do not support CSS Paged Media (w3.org/TR/css-page-3/). This can be a huge problem if you do more complex print projects. Or did htmltopdf-java add support on top of wkhtmltopdf?

I actually have two websites in the area of HTML to PDF html2pdf.guru/Paged-Media/Page-Size/ and printcss.live/, where I try to guide people to the right tool for their use case.

Thread Thread
 
stefanoero profile image
Ero Stefano

Your websites are amazing! You are proving an amazing service! I wonder why I didnt find them earlier! I have to admit I didnt know about CSS Media Page before.

I dont think htmltopdf-java added support on top but I am trying this out later.

Thread Thread
 
stefanoero profile image
Ero Stefano

No, additional support. I will migrate my pdf to openhtmltopdf now! thx