DEV Community

Cover image for MY JOURNEY INTO TECH.
CHIMNECHEREM SYLVIA ADIMIKE
CHIMNECHEREM SYLVIA ADIMIKE

Posted on

MY JOURNEY INTO TECH.

Note this because we will come back to this:

When you are not practicing, remember somewhere someone else is practicing and when you meet him, he will win.

Hello, my name is Sylvia Chimnecherem Adimike, proudly Nigerian, and this is my story:

I am learning the technical skills to be a full stack software engineer at CodeLab.
My technology stack includes the MERN(MongoDB, Express, React, Node.js) stack, I also stack in JavaScript and TypeScript.
I have also worked with different project management methodologies but majorly, agile and scrum methodology and taken several practical and theoretical classes on Design thinking.

The journey; How it all started:

Few years ago, when I had finished secondary school, and even when I was in school, I had honestly not known the exact career path I wanted to follow. But I was a science student and I was going to go into the medical line, not certain then at the moment but I was hoping for medicine and surgery. Lol!

Even though, later on, I was really into Physiotherapy majorly because of my love of sports. I really love anything sports.
After 2 futile attempts of gaining admission into school, and other approaches I had taken then to enter school, I was honestly bittered and frustrated, safe to say, I was slowly falling into depression. My mum noticed it and she suggested I go into computer programming, (NB: She was the chief master of me studying medicine, even though she would always say go for what you want, I’m not holding you…LOL…if only. Her body language, the empathy in her voice and her reactions most of the times always says otherwise.)

Back to our story:
I hadn’t taken her serious because my parents had actually spent a lot in the course of processing my admission plus I had no laptop at that moment and I knew cost of training was going to be really expensive as I had little ideas on pricing already and the main thing was even that I wasn’t really a computer person. I had zero knowledge on even how to operate a computer.
Seeing my mum’s seriousness and willingness for me to start learning programming, because she had kept on saying that this is the only thing that I can do to help me redeem time I decided to venture into tech.

We did a lot of research together and she registered me for a program at Ikeja, it was going to last two and half months. I didn’t see much productive results as I had hoped for and even the project they gave me, I did it for over 5 months with no measurable results, safe to say again that I didn’t know what I was exactly doing. I was so worried, I knew I wanted more, I knew I wanted a community, I knew I couldn’t work with a standard company because I couldn’t even build a simple website, even something as simple as a navbar….YES!!!....it was that serious…I just worked with templates that I didn’t completely understand and it bothered me so much.

The Journey Continues:
Though I couldn’t come straight to my mum and tell her what my exact challenges with the coding was because it felt like double disappointment to me and I knew I wasn’t a failure, I had just not been lucky with my attempts.

One night while researching through facebook, I stumbled across a post by NELSON ELAYE. And I was touched by it, because the summary of it all was encouraging software developers out there and also encouraging connecting with people and networking plus I had seen something that interested me more, he belonged to a community!! I had always wanted that, I wanted that guidance, I wanted that holding by the hand. So I messaged him with the link I saw attached to the post, the excitement in my voice didn’t allow him completely hear the Voice note I had sent but I strongly felt something that night/early morning, IMMENSE JOY, I felt I had reached the right place finally because of the content of his page. And I wasn’t wrong or should I say the hunch because I applied for an admission there and after series of interviews and screenings I got in!!
Imagine how big my joy was. That prestigious, “unique” , one big tech community is CODELAB.
My goals became more defined and I had that desired community. That timeliness was also instilled in me because there was a deadline to everything. I became much more accountable and my goal was becoming a full stack software engineer became more achievable and clearer. I love CodeLab and so far I love my massive growth since the 2 months I have been admitted to CodeLab and it can only get better from here.
I am on my way to achieving my goals of building UNICORNS and being a certified full stack software engineer by July 2023.

Image description
My Set CodeLab Family.

Few words of advice from me to you:
⦁ Believe in yourself, because the “THE YOU THAT YOU SEE IS
THE YOU THAT YOU WILL BE. IF IT WILL BE YOU, IT’S UP TO YOU.”
⦁ Consistency is key. Practice at least 10 times daily. Remember the quotes at the starting point.
⦁ Surround your self with positive likeminds. People that are willing to help you grow. To drive home the point, define your goals and know the people that are with you on your bus to greatness.
⦁ Never give up because there is light at the end of the tunnel. Remember, today is tough, tomorrow will be tough but the day after tomorrow will be beautiful but we give up tomorrow. I hope you get the meaning in between the words!

I remain Sylvia Adimike. An upcoming full stack software engineer. I will make a difference.

Proudly SheCodesAJ

Top comments (0)