DEV Community

Cover image for Markdown cheatsheet
Temitope Ayodele
Temitope Ayodele

Posted on

Markdown cheatsheet

Originally published on my blog

You can style texts on the web with markdown. Markdown files use the .md or .mdx extensions. Here is a list of essential markdown syntax that you will mostly use often.

HEADERS

# Heading 1 <h1>
## Heading 2 <h2> 
### Heading 3 <h3>
#### Heading 4 <h4>
##### Heading 5 <h5>
###### Heading 6 <h6>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Heading 1

Heading 2

Heading 3

Heading 4

Heading 5
Heading 6

BOLD

**I am a bold text**
__I am a bold text__ 
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I am a bold text

ITALICS

*italicized text*
_Italic text_ 
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

italicized text

LISTS

Unordered List
- Shoes
- Bags
- Clothes
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  • Shoes
  • Bags
  • Clothes
Ordered List
1. Baby
2. Teenager
3. Adult
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  1. Baby
  2. Teenager
  3. Adult

CODE

`code`
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

code

LINK

[inline-style link](https://temmie.me)
[inline-style link with title](https://temmie.me "My portfolio")
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

inline-style link
inline-style link with title

IMAGE

![descriptive alt text](image.jpg)
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

BLOCKQUOTE

> blockquote
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

This is a blockquote

HORIZONTAL RULE

Hyphens
---
Asterisks
***
Underscores
___
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Hyphens


Asterisks


Underscores


STRIKETHROUGH

~~This is strikethrough sentence.~~
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

This is strikethrough sentence.

TABLE

| Name | Type |
| ----------- | ----------- |
| Temitope | Frontend engineer |
| Ayodele | Coach |
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
Name Type
Temitope Frontend engineer
Ayodele Coach

INLINE HTML

<h4>My Title</h4>
<p>I really have nothing to write here, lol</p>
<p>Markdown does *not* work well here. Use <strong>HTML tags</strong> instead.</p>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

My Title

I really have nothing to write here, lol

Markdown does *not* work well here. Use HTML tags instead.

You can play around the markdown syntax here.

Checkout my articles on my blog

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
joelnwalkley profile image
Joel N. Walkley

Great list!

One trick I recently learned is that for numbered lists, you don't actually need to manually increment the number. You can put all "1."s and it will auto-order. Really handy if you ever need to move things around.

Example below with result:

1. Item one
1. Item two
1. item three
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  1. Item one
  2. Item two
  3. item three