DEV Community

Cover image for Building a Link Shortener
Tim ⛈
Tim ⛈

Posted on

Building a Link Shortener

When I read that Google was shutting down its URL shortener service in March 2019, I decided that there would be a big demand for another link shortener service. This news gave me the idea to build my own link shortener.

The first step to build a URL shortener is to get a short domain. Fortunately, I was able to get T.LY an amazing 1 letter domain. The next step was to build an API with subscriptions, teams, custom domains, stats, and all the functionality you would expect from a link shortener. I also built a link shortener extension that allows you to shorten any URL in 1 click!

If you are building an application that needs to shorten links, check out the simple to use T.LY API.

I would love your feedback on T.LY!
Thanks

Top comments (0)