DEV Community

Vadim Goussev
Vadim Goussev

Posted on

AWS CodeCommit LifeCycle Hooks run order, summarized in one table for EC2, ECS, Lambda

While preparing for my AWS DevOps Engineer Professional exam I had to understand and memorize the CodeDeploy LifeCycle hooks. As usual, AWS provides decent documentation. Here is an example about how the Run order of hooks is documented. However, I could not find a table with all three cased combined. So I created one and it did help me a lot during the study. And also, I had a question in the exam about the "AfterAllowTestTraffic" hook.

Table 1: Run order of hooks for Lambda, ECS and EC2 Blue-Green deployments

Alt Text

Note 1: The greyed out hooks in the table are reserved for CodeDeploy operations. They cannot be used to run scripts.
Note 2: Hooks on EC2 can be used to run scripts on instances, while hooks for Lambda and ECS can be used only to run Lambda functions.

Table 2: Run order of hooks for EC2 In-Place deployments without ELB and with ELB and EC2 Blue-Green deployments

Alt Text

Happy coding CodeDeploy lifecycle hooks!

Top comments (0)