DEV Community

🇭🇹 DEDE
🇭🇹 DEDE

Posted on

Why can't I appreciate C ++ like I appreciate C?

Why can't I appreciate C++ like I appreciate C ??

Help #explainlikeimfive

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
jrbrtsn profile image
John Robertson

C++ compilers and the standard template library are like helicopter parents; it's their way or the highway. C merely exposes the functionality of a hardware platform in a non-judgemental way. libc (C's standard library) provides minimally wrapped access to OS kernel calls, as well as providing a set of functions which address common problems. libc does not address graphics - you must use some other library for that.
I can't appreciate C++ because it takes me 5X as long to write the same application in C++ as it does in C.

Collapse
 
ravi-prakash-singh profile image
Ravi Prakash Singh
Collapse
 
wilfrantz profile image
🇭🇹 DEDE

I'd like to focus only on C but I get skeptical about what my future would be as a programmer!