DEV Community

Cover image for Best Programming Language to Learn First and Why
Bronwen Gien
Bronwen Gien

Posted on • Updated on

Best Programming Language to Learn First and Why

“What is the best Programming language to learn first” is often met with a response of “It doesn’t matter what programming language you learn first”. I get it everyone is on a different journey, and one answer may not suit everyone. Well, in this article, I will go out on that limb and provide you with my answer as a beginner. I have been where you are. I am just someone in your shoes that wishes I had an article like this when I started my coding journey (January 2022).

HTML makes up the core structure of pretty much every website that exists, and as an added benefit it is one of the easiest languages to learn, that is why we suggest that no matter if you are doing a front-end or backend route that the best programming language to learn for is HTML.

Table Of Contents

  1. Start with the fundamentals
  2. Why you should learn HTML as your first language
  3. What will you learn with HTML as your first language
  4. What are the best Programming Languages to Learn First for backend development
  5. Conclusion

Start with the fundamentals

I know how excited you are to build the next “big thing”, I am too. If you want to find out what I am trying to achieve, you can go check out my recent blog, “Why I am learning to code.”

In reality, it doesn’t matter if you can build the most advanced algorithm if you don’t know how to register a domain name, build a basic website or add a security certificate.

The above things are easy to do, specifically with tools like WordPress, Elementor and hosting platforms like Siteground.

Understanding the basics of the internet and how computers process and store data will make you a better developer in the long run. The FREE CS50’s Understanding Technology Course presented by a Harvard lecturer teaches you about all of the above. I found this course extremely helpful.

Read the rest of this article on our blog by clicking here

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
curiousdev profile image
CuriousDev

Sorry to write this, but first, HTML is not a programming language, if it is compared to Javascript etc. and second, where is the whole content here? You begin with a point, but do not continue.

Collapse
 
beginnergamedev profile image
Bronwen Gien

Based on your comment it doesnt seem lie you read the whole article. Click on the link at the end to read the full article on my blog.

You will be happy to know that in the blog post I mention that HTML is a markup language and not technically a programming language. I think if you read the full article you may get a better understanding of why I think its the best language to learn.