DEV Community

Cover image for Android Studio Build Immediate Fail
xarzu
xarzu

Posted on

Android Studio Build Immediate Fail

This example code was taken straight from github. I am confident that this code is supposed to build but I suspect something in the compiler of Android Studio has changed, updated, or with a newer version of the Android operating system something needs to be updated in the source code of an app. This is because a build and/or gradle sync has this error immediately. Nothing major has changed in the code. I suspect this might be a common thing and I suspect someone must know something about this and how to fix it. Please advise.

Image description

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
xarzu profile image
xarzu

How Do I download Android Gradle Plugin 7.4?

As I was making this post, this web forum times out and logged me out and all my work was lost. So I am going to save this as I type.

For starters, Android Studio is dealing with two kinds of Gradle as seen in the Project Structure:

Image description

Luckily, I found on the developer.android.com site, some information regarding the relationship between thest two things. developer.android.com/studio/relea...

And, on this page, I found this table which tells me what version of the plug-in I need.

Image description

So, where do I find this?