DEV Community

Abdullah Gira
Abdullah Gira

Posted on

Revisiting CS Bachelor

This is a fun project. I want to revisit the Computer Science field after two years away from my graduate degree using free online materials from top universities worldwide. And I will share my journey on this blog.

Since I’m working part-time on this, I expect the duration of this project to be 1-2 years.

I initially considered the MIT curriculum but chose Open Source Society University (OSSU) since its curriculum has more engaging video lectures and practice problems than MIT's. The OSSU CS curriculum meets all of the requirements from the Curriculum Guidelines for Undergraduate Degree Programs in Computer Science 2013, matching up nicely to those found on MIT OpenCourseWare. Though there are three courses offered at MIT not available on OSSU: Software Construction, Design, and Analysis of Algorithms and Performance Engineering of software systems, I'll add them to my curriculum.

One course I'm not sure about adding is Computation structures because the Core Systems section covers the course material. However, I will add it as a recap, or I might skip it altogether.

Optional books I might read

They are not in the curriculum but are recommended reads:

Optional courses I might take

The curriculum

This is the curriculum as of now (the content updates frequently as new courses are discovered/created), I’ve marked courses I personally added as (Personal)

CS Core

Advanced programming

(*) book by Blackburn, Bos, and Striegnitz (compiled from source, redistributed under CC license)

Final project

If I include the curriculum and optional courses, I will exceed the undergraduate degree requirements according to Curriculum Guidelines for Undergraduate Degree Programs in Computer Science 2013, but this is a fun project, so why not?

Throughout the curriculum, I will post weekly updates about my progress and notes from the books and courses I will take.

I will update the status on my blog as I go through the material.

Top comments (0)