DEV Community

Lucien Loua
Lucien Loua

Posted on • Updated on

My First Hacktoberfest: Growth, Challenges, and Gratitude

I had the opportunity to participate in Hacktoberfest 2023, and it was an incredible experience. As a first-time contributor, I embarked on this journey of open-source collaboration. I want to extend a special thank you to @daoodaba975 from GalsenDev for making this opportunity possible. You can find my GitHub contributions



Amelioration dUi #19

Creation d'un fichier json dans src/data/add-me-in.json, c'est là où les noms et projets devrais être ajouter pour mieux fonctionner avec le design.

Highs and Lows

During Hacktoberfest, I encountered several highs and lows. Some of my biggest accomplishments included successfully making my first pull request, which was truly a light-bulb moment. It was a fulfilling experience to be part of open-source projects and make meaningful contributions.

However, it wasn't always smooth sailing. I faced challenges along the way, including conflicts with other contributions. These moments taught me the importance of adaptability, communication, and creative problem-solving. It's incredible how the open-source community comes together to help one another overcome hurdles.

Growth

Before Hacktoberfest 2023, my skillset was somewhat limited, and I had minimal experience contributing to open-source projects. However, during this event, I've seen substantial growth in my skills and knowledge. I've gained a better understanding of version control, collaboration through pull requests, and project organization.

My learning and career goals have evolved as well. I now have a deeper appreciation for the power of open source in driving innovation and positive change in the tech industry. I'm more motivated than ever to continue contributing and learning from the global community of developers.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
daoodaba975 profile image
Daouda BA

Superb article @xyhomi3 your participation for Hacktoberfest was very beneficial.
Looking forward to receiving your next contributions