DEV Community

Cover image for How I became an Outreachy Intern.
Steve Yonkeu
Steve Yonkeu

Posted on • Updated on

How I became an Outreachy Intern.

Getting started with opensource is a little bit tedious and confusing. As a whole having in mind that opensource is a whole in which you build software which is free, opened and code based available all individuals, now the question most beginners ask is "how can I get paid with opensource". Without wasting time let me give you a breakdown of my journey in opensource and how it is related with Outreachy.

My Story

Image description
I'm Steve Yonkeu, a young Cameroonian developer. The transition from secondary school to high school was the most hectic one with no one to hold my hand or advise me on my choice given that I was first in my family to go to the anglophone section. Leaving from secondary school I had hopes of becoming a medical doctor and after several failed attempts to enter the school via written exams, the next option on my list was doing secretary work (Microsoft Office) which I unconsciously went to register in the University of Bamenda. Ohh me who wanted to study my Office work was doing a head on collision with an Algorithm course, I was discovering a new world and getting used to a new jargon. As time was going on I kept getting use to this and starting with HTML, CSS then JavaScript I started grinding. Later run I discovered Git and GitHub during a GDSC (Google Developers Student Club) workshop in my university one day, that was like such a spark in my life, me who is a freebies lover. I can remember the first opensource project I contributed to was the OSS Cameroon Blog in 2021 and this was an internship I got which was compensated. This marked my glorious entry into the world of opensource. From there I contributed to several projects and community in opensource notably: Ersilia, Google, Wagtail, ChaOS, Fossasia and more. I discovered Outreachy the second half of 2021 by a friend and since then I've been applying and contributing. With all the experience I had I proudly the contribution phases I went through has always been the best, helping others and learning about project, new ways of implementing features is so amazing. Today here am I, an Outreachy intern at Unstructured Studio and working on the ZubHub Project. Let's talk a little about Outreachy.

What is Outreachy?

Image description
Outreachy is a global program that promotes diversity in the open-source community. It offers paid, remote internships to people from groups traditionally underrepresented in technology. The program focuses on individuals who face systemic bias or discrimination in the tech industry of their country. Interns work with experienced mentors from the open-source community, gaining invaluable knowledge and skills. The program runs twice a year, typically from May to August and December to March. Interns are expected to contribute 40 hours per week, for which they are compensated, ensuring the program is accessible to those who might not otherwise be able to participate. Outreachy embodies a powerful initiative to level the playing field in technology. It's not just an internship program; it's a gateway to a more diverse, inclusive, and innovative tech community. As the tech industry continues to evolve, programs like Outreachy will be pivotal in shaping a more equitable future.

What is Unstructured Studio?

Image description
Unstructured Studio is an organization dedicated to empowering children from underserved communities through creative learning experiences. They achieve this by developing tools, activities, and resources focused on education. Key initiatives include "Kriti Activities," offering low-cost creative learning activities for children and educators, and "Creative Learning Workshops," which provide hands-on experiences and capacity building for educators. Additionally, they have developed "ZubHub," an open-source platform for documentation and collaboration in activity-based learning​. The Zubhub is the one I'm working on for this outreachy cohort.

The steps into Oureachy

Image description
Outreachy runs in 3 steps:

  • Initial application
  • Contribution phase
  • Internship phase

The initial application

In this phase the participant should write some essays for Outreachy organizers to know more about you and the situation you are facing which makes you fit as an underrepresented or discriminated individual. It is always advisable to be opened, clear and friendly in your essays. a good tip I'll give is to be yourself it is nothing formal, so write the way you feel it.

The Contribution Phase

After the initial application approved, here comes the phase which can be considered "technical phase". Here your skills, teams work, commitment and desire to help others are put at work. As a whole the contribution phase is quite straight forward. Some of my tips:

  • Get as early as possible on the project
  • Make sure to properly setup the project and let the mentors know as well.
  • Help your peers who are unable to setup the project
  • When you are in need of help ask help from the communication channel to the mentors and the other contributors
  • When submitting the proposal be focused on the project, don't go of topic.

Funfact, during the week to the release of the results, the image below illustrate how I was;

The Internship Phase

Once selected as an intern after submission of your proposal, you are announced on the alums page of the outreachy website. During this phase you work closely with mentors on the project. In my case the project we worked on; we used a task-based oriented system.

Conclusion

Image description
Outreachy involves a lot of sacrifices and commitment but guess what, the end is rewarding. Skills gain are so numerous, not to talk of the compensation of $7000 in two instalments during the internship. Opensource internships are incredible opportunities where we can easily grow skills, network and get rewarded.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
mankavelda profile image
Manka Velda

Interesting dear
This is so inspiring πŸ‘ŒπŸ€—πŸ€—

Collapse
 
yokwejuste profile image
Steve Yonkeu

Thanks :)