DEV Community

Zach
Zach

Posted on

SDC: DBs and Servers

Here's where I am on SDC:

  • I've got my API routes in shape.

  • I've got an Express server and a Postgres server active and listening on different ports on localhost.

  • My Postgres server is seeded with the data in imprecisely defined tables.

  • My Express server can retrieve data from the DB with queries that approximate the shape of the API we're replacing.

This morning I spun up two EC2 instances - one for the API (Express) and the other for the DB. The former is about as bare bones as it gets - I created the barest test db/table/record but I can confirm that a Postman request to my remote API creates a connection to the also remote DB that serves it the query result that it returns to Postman.

Here's what's next:

I'm setting aside tuning my tables and queries for now. I think those will take some nitty-gritty work, but those are within my current comprehension.

Some bigger questions are looming.

Here's where it gets fun and where I'm charting totally new territory.

I know I'll need to:

  • get my data onto my EC2 Postgres instance.
  • scale horizontally by using more instances.
    • is that db instances or service (API) instances?
  • load balance to use those instances efficiently
  • stress test by sending automated requests

Those are just some of the high level things and I really don't know how any of it will go.

Top comments (0)