DEV Community

KJ Richmond
KJ Richmond

Posted on

My 1st Opensrc Project: Tip

Happy New Year!

Also, disclaimer this is about my first time leading an open source project and all of thing things I have learned.

Make sure you hide private information

If I launch an app I usually did so on a private repo or a private hosting site, and often the .env variables were needed to run.
When starting an open source project make sure to add your private links, logins, or data to an .env file and add said file to .gitignore before pushing your repo.

If you made the mistake already, you can always:

  1. Roll back your commit and delete it there.
  2. If it's only your first commit. Delete that repo and create a new one with the tip mentioned above.
  3. Google/Stackoverflow another method

Make a CONTRIBUTING.md

This may seem obvious but if it's open source then you must want people to contribute so, give them rules and instruction on how to do so. There are plenty of resources to outlining how to make a good one.

It is ok if it is less than perfect at the start just try to keep up with it as issues and improvements arise. Trust me it will make your life and the contributors lives easier.


Add Security Checks / Protections

Github has tons of pre-built checks for repos, use them. The last thing you want is for someone to be able to make changes to your repo without your or a mod's approval.


Live and Learn

While not making mistakes is great and all. Making mistakes and learning from them is how you grow as both a person and a developer. There are a ton of other things I wish I knew better opening my repo to public but because of them I have learned a ton and improved a ton.

If you are looking for help there are tons of resources to get assistance you just have to look a little bit to find them.

-K. Richmond

Top comments (0)