DEV Community

Adam Crockett πŸŒ€
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

Posted on

Do nothing: fix problems πŸͺ 

Sometimes a project can feel like flushing a toilet and yelling "go down, go down whilst making dramatic hand motions towards the earth"

It's pointless, the yelling and hand waving didn't do much to solve the problem but damn did it make you smile afterwards.

Do nothing 🐒

I want to remind you that not all problems need any involvement from you and actually doing nothing can be an extremely proactive stance.

How did I conclude this? 🍫

Yesterday I implemented some bugfix, got it tested and ended up rewriting it today to do the opposite finally to be told it was alright how it was initially πŸ˜ΆπŸ˜ΆπŸ˜ΆπŸ’’πŸ˜‘πŸ˜€.

Despite my original protest I still did the work, cost me the day, had I done nothing.. well I could have enjoyed the sun and protested more but I might have come out of it even worse so who's to say? Should I have done nothing, could I have?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
polterguy profile image
Thomas Hansen

Best advice ever. I've seen another permutation of it, which is as follows.

The lazy programmer is the best, because he doesn't suffer from the "not invented here syndrome", and is more willing to use pre-existing (read; better) off the shelf components

... ;)

Collapse
 
sainig profile image
Gaurav Saini

Ugh, haven’t we all been there at some point of time.
PS you should really get a plunger, works like a charm for me. Not sure how it would fare in the toilet situation though.

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

πŸ˜‚ In a work context, the plunger is the product owner agreeing to your demands 🚁πŸ›₯οΈπŸ•πŸ’ΈπŸ’°