DEV Community

Adam Crockett πŸŒ€
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

Posted on • Updated on

Choose a startup vs established company

I know somebody who has to choose between a startup or established company and they would be new to the role at that level. The worry is the mentoring might not be available and the startup could chew them up. This person is not afraid to hit the ground running however.

What can this person do to work out what is stable and what is not stable.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
theaccordance profile image
Joe Mainwaring • Edited

For me, stable has a fairly clear definition when considering working relationships:

  • Company is able to provide group health care. As someone with cancer, this has become a basic survival need.
  • Company has at least 18-24 months of runway. That runway is likely to get shortened as the company takes risks and I don’t want my resume littered with short-tenure positions.
  • Compensation pays the bills and enables me to at least save modestly.

This won’t necessarily stop me from participating with a company, but if it’s unable to meet these items, I’ll only participate as a side hustle.

Collapse
 
srbhr profile image
Saurabh Rai

If I were that person, I'd choose the startup. The learning in two years at a startup would make me go 10x in my career. However, WLB might take a hit and there would be too much grinding in startups, as you have mentioned there is no mentoring.
If this person has other commitments, then go for big tech company. Also, no company is stable. 2023 has shown us with even top tech companies laying off thousands of employees. But Big Tech has a better WLB, more people and perks.