DEV Community

AmasiaNalbandian
AmasiaNalbandian

Posted on

release0.1

Where do I start?

What I should have been asking myself was "WHEN do I start?"

Release0.1 has ensured that my summer vacation daze is over and that reality is setting back in... specifically the reality that programming takes more time than I think.

Approaching this project I have never made a CLI tool. I was sure this would be simple. However that's where I want to paste the following quote:
"Simplicity is the most difficult thing to secure in this world; it is the last limit of experience and the last effort of genius."

My first approach was to create a node file and use scripts to control what functions to run. Then I went to bash. Then I went back to nodejs. Then I was fed up half way and decided to do C++. I don't even finish looking up how to read a file before I say "Let's try Golang". Then I realize all of this is a horrible idea and go back to Nodejs. I see ONE typo that was crashing the whole program. I fix it. I work for 2 hours and get a lot done - I can do this. Suddenly everything starts going wrong...

This guide I was following to help me get started... It's not doing what I need it to. What?

I start to look through my project and I realize this was a horrible idea. Let's find the guide on "fs" and use that to write the code.

OK! Nice! It's working. Let's do the two implementations.

Uh-Oh! The command line options were not actually working this whole time.

The amount of sadness I felt was massive. I have to start all over... I take 10 minutes and I realize this is what It's going to be. I did not allocate enough time to test and ensure it's good. I start submitting the files on GitHub...

I look at some peers source codes to compare the methods we used. I realize there is a lot I understand now... There's so much I can do with the project once I fix the options feature. There's actually A LOT I can do.

I learned so much just by seeing some of the code from my peers. I think as a complete introvert, I will be stubborn when it comes time to collaborate, but we should have had more discussions. I should have made the time to open conversation. Why was I so stubborn?

Top comments (0)