DEV Community

Cover image for A fun experiment: Create Azure resources using AWS CloudFormation (Built using GoLang)
amlan
amlan

Posted on

A fun experiment: Create Azure resources using AWS CloudFormation (Built using GoLang)

Azure has quickly become one of the leading cloud providers in the market now. So I started having deep dives in learning about Azure resources. One of the useful aspect of Azure is the usage of Azure API to interact with the resources. Similar to AWS, the Azure API also has methods to access various resources. Best way to learn this is to implement a project using the API. Thats where I started having this fun experiment to learn use of the Azure API. In this post I am describing a process which I used to spin up Azure resources using AWS cloudformation. Normally we use AWS cloudformation to interact with AWS resources. But to extend its usage using Azure API, I am using Cloudformation to create a Storage account on Azure (similar to S3 bucket on AWS). I am describing below the whole process how I achieved this. This may not be a proper Production scenario but who know if such scenario may arise in our projects. Will be a good learning. Please do not try this in Production scenarios unless you know exactly what you are doing :)

For more details:
https://amlanscloud.com/cfntoazure/

Top comments (0)