DEV Community

Cover image for AndroidSummit2020 - Modern Android Apps & Dual Screen Experiences!
Nitya Narasimhan, Ph.D for Microsoft Azure

Posted on • Updated on

AndroidSummit2020 - Modern Android Apps & Dual Screen Experiences!

Found this interesting? Here are some useful resources:

  1. Subscribe: Surface Duo Dev Blog

  2. Read: Creating Apps for Dual Screen

  3. Follow: #SurfaceDuoDev tag on dev.to

  4. Bookmark: Azure For Mobile Developers


About Android Summit

Android Summit is a 2-day multi-track conference that is held annually in Washington DC. As with many other conferences, this is the first time they are making it virtual - and I have to take a minute to give huge props to the organizers for the level of effort that has gone into making this happen.

Three things make this conference special for me.

  1. COMMUNITY

The organizers are industry experts but also long-time community leaders in the greater DC area who have supported developer and startup events for years. When we last met in person, it was February and we didn't know what 2020 had in store.

  1. CONFERENCE

The format is a unique one - three tracks that typically used to have a focus on Design, Development and Testing respectively. It allowed for attendees to get a multi-disciplinary learning experience across the end-to-end development cycle. Plus, it was the venue where I gave my first self-care keynote.

  1. CONTENT

Android moves at a dizzying pace with new things to learn, explore and leverage on a daily basis. You only have to look at the schedule and speaker list to appreciate the diversity and depth of topics that you get to learn about.


About My Talk

In my case, I am returning to mobile development after a gap and I can't wait to hear about the latest advances in Kotlin - and also share my own enthusiasm for the emerging category of foldable devices and the unique mobile experiences they can offer.

Here's a sneak peek at the roadmap for what I hope to cover. This is my first talk on the topic and my goal is to create awareness of the opportunities and challenges for developing dual-screen, multi-posture apps - and inspire you to explore them early with the Surface Duo SDK and support documentation.

Talk Outline Image


Your Call-To-Action

I've started creating blog posts around my talks for 3 reasons:

  • I can share my learnings from listening to others
  • I can post slides & recording (when it is available)
  • I can connect with community and answer questions

So I have 3 asks for you:

So join us - and I hope to see you there!

Nitya's Talk Details


Update 1: Scan the Slides


Update 2: View the Video


Resources

  1. Subscribe: Surface Duo Dev Blog

  2. Read: Creating Apps for Dual Screen

  3. Follow: #SurfaceDuoDev tag on dev.to

  4. Bookmark: Azure For Mobile Developers


Top comments (0)