DEV Community

Cover image for Save Your eyes! How to Install Flux on Ubuntu
Benjamin Spak
Benjamin Spak

Posted on • Updated on

Save Your eyes! How to Install Flux on Ubuntu

Originally Posted on my Blog


Trust me, you want Flux. Your eyes & sleep quality will thank you.

If you need to manually start the applet just type 'fluxgui' in terminal.

Resource: Flux Repo

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:nathan-renniewaldock/flux
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install fluxgui
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Resource: Create a Cron Task in Ubuntu

Check if cron is installed:

dpkg -l cron
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Install cron (if needed)

sudo apt-get install cron
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Verify cron is running.

systemctl status cron
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Create a new cron job.

crontab -e
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Select your terminal editor of choice.

Resource: Crontab Generator

Use the Crontab Generator to select when you want fluxgui to run.
FYI: 'Command To Execute' field on Crontab Generator is 'fluxgui'

Verify cron job was created.

crontab -l
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

If you need to manually start the applet just type 'fluxgui' in terminal.

Winning! You're good to go.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
dmahely profile image
Doaa Mahely

Just downloaded it on my Mac. I was already using the default Night Shift but I think this will ease my eye strain a lot more. I will start using it when I have a good sleeping schedule, right now I'm nocturnal 😬

Collapse
 
benjaminspak profile image
Benjamin Spak

When I’ve used it at night I noticed I was getting tired earlier; try it out tonight. Well, it may not work - make you sleeper - if you have led bulbs in your room or look at your phone. But it still helps with the eye strain 😊

Collapse
 
suraj profile image
Suraj K. Shrestha

I use redshift from CLI.

Collapse
 
benjaminspak profile image
Benjamin Spak

TIL :)

Collapse
 
tcelestino profile image
Tiago Celestino

I used to on macOS and I think is amazing software. I was using the default night on Ubuntu but f.lux is more better than default night mode.