DEV Community

Bert Heyman
Bert Heyman

Posted on

What FTP client can you recommend? Why?

For most of my FTP needs, I've been using FileZilla. While convenient for most needs, the site manager becomes a bit bloated when more and more projects are added.
So I was curious:

What do you look for in a good FTP client? What clients would you recommend?

Bonus points for:

  • Being available for both Mac and Windows.
  • Being able to organise a larger number of sites or easily switch/search between them.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes • Edited

I'm not using FTP that much anymore but I usually go for Transmit (supports S3, main reason why I use it) that has a "favorites" section you can sort by name or address. It's macOS only so outside of your requirements.

I was honestly going to suggest FileZilla which seems the cross platform FTP client...

If you have a "large number" of sites though, the favorites section in Transmit it's going to look like an oversized and long list

Collapse
 
bertheyman profile image
Bert Heyman

Thanks for the suggestion - I'll check it out!