DEV Community

Maksim Bober
Maksim Bober

Posted on • Updated on

Getting humble bundle books

I have been using Humble Bundle Books for at least three years. However, they still haven't implemented a user-friendly way to download all the books from the order page. They have an option to download all the books, but when you click on it, you will have one popup for each book to download, and you would need to do it multiple times if you want your books in different formats.

Very Angry Image

So I decided to use my ⌨️🐒skillz to come up with a better solution.

Here I present to you humble_get a cli tool that would allow you to download all of your Humble Bundle books from the comfort of your terminal.

pip install humble-get

# Get YOUR_KEY from humble_bundle page
# https://www.humblebundle.com/downloads?key=YOUR_KEY

# And get all of your books in a nice directory:
humble_get -key YOUR_KEY -format epub -p ./my/books/directory
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Resources

CLI for getting your Humble Bundle Books

Humble book bundles are hard to download from the order page.

If you are going to click on the download button you are going to end up with one popup window per book. Which is a painfull UX to say the least.

So, I decided to implement a command line app in Python that would make it easier to download books from the order page into a directory of my choosing.

Installation

pip install humble-get
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

How to use it?

In order to use this script, you would need to have a humble bundle key.

You can get it by checking the URL right after buying your bundle.

https://www.humblebundle.com/downloads?key=YOUR_KEY

humble_get -key YOUR_KEY -format epub -p ./my/books/directory
# OR
humble_get -key YOUR_KEY -format pdf -p ./my/books/directory
# OR
humble_get -key YOUR_KEY -format all -p ./my/books/directory
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Top comments (0)