DEV Community

BUCC Crunch
BUCC Crunch

Posted on

Semester Chronicles - United through Shege

How was your semester?

I think this was one semester that had it all – fun, events, stress, and of course, what’s a semester without a dose of shege? Some bold students shared their experiences.

Datonte, 400L Computer Technology

This last semester that just concluded has been my most hectic semester yet. From 7 am-6 pm, classes, group presentations left and right, assignments, pop quizzes and the exams were also tougher than I expected not to mention the lecturers were stricter than usual and let's not even talk about how stressful juggling all of that and still finding time to prepare for my SIWES defence and mini defence. Then at times although rarely I'd come back from a hectic day of classes from under that hot sun just wanting to take a shower and sleep, then boom no light and no water, crazy right? This last semester was also my lowest financially I don't think I've ever been so happy to drink garri because I drank it so much and it always filled me up.

But in as much as I went through a lot I also had good times like the BUCC Tech Xplore which was a week dedicated to tech-related fun activities that other universities took part in, my favorite part of it was the movie night, very refreshing. I made new friends and reconnected with old ones, I picked up new interests, discovered more about myself, and learned new things, I even ran for hall senator during the bye-elections although I didn't win I did learn something new about myself which is an opportunity for me work on myself and grow.

Despite everything that happened GOD saw me through it all and I want to thank him for keeping me till now.

Jibrin, 200L Software Engineering

The busiest semester has to be this one. At the beginning of the semester, I joined LinkedIn and watched people who graduated with 4.95. They made it look so easy! I then thought; it’s not enough that I graduate with first class let me up my game and become the best-graduating student (screams in delulu ) but there’s some motivation kicking in so I look forward to it myself.

Funny how a lecturer aided my studying the semester, my SENG 201 lecturer got to know my name and never forgot it so every single time he was like “Jibrin what’s the answer, Jibrin help us out with that “ he kept me on my toes and had me reading before classes. I sincerely look forward to a semester where I can balance my social and academic life so one day I can be screaming “Oporr!” and another day I’m talking about software systems.

Ayo, 400L Software Engineering

I thought I had seen it all in 300 level second semester, where I had to complete a semester in just 6 weeks. This included mid-semester exams, quizzes, and final exams. Little did I know that it was little compared to what awaited me in the 400 level first semester. The very day my 300-level second-semester exams finished coincided with the day 400-level students were set to resume. Unfortunately, I couldn't go home because where I stayed was quite far from Ogun State and also, I was nowhere close to finishing my IT report.

So, from the first day of 400 level first semester, I found myself sacrificing my nights to ensure the completion of my IT report. Finally, I finished the report, and at least, I could breathe a little. “Ope ooo!”.

The semester's lectures finally commenced, with Artificial Intelligence being the first class. We had heard rumours about how intense the class was, so we had fastened our belts for what lay ahead. Dr. Ernest welcomed us with a discussion forum sent in the midnight for us to contribute to (imagine my complaints, as I cherish my sleep, I could have missed that discussion). In the first physical AI class, we had a group exercise, and in my mind, I was already envisioning the shege pro max awaiting me during the semester.

Also, many lecturers took attendance seriously, and missing class to rest or do something else wasn't even an option; you had to attend all the classes. In the same semester, we had class projects like Open-Source project, Project Management project, and Network Security project, each with its deadline. The combination of all these stressed me out because there wasn't much time to work on them, and many of my group members weren't contributing. It annoyed me, but I couldn't afford to leave them because 20 marks were crucial to boosting my CGPA.

One highlight of this semester (and I'm sure this also pertains to all final-year students) was my final-year project. Back when I saw people working on their final year projects in 400 level first semester, I used to think they weren't serious, as you were supposed to have started during the SIWES period. Little did I know that it would be my story too. Three weeks to mini-defense, I didn't have a project topic, and it wasn't my fault, but let's leave that. Finally, I got a project topic. At that point, I didn't know how I was going to do it, but I knew that chapters 1-3 had to be ready before the mini-defence. Thank God for the kind of friends and roommates I had—having all 400-level and serious roommates was very good. We all pulled all-nighters until the day of defence. Unfortunately, I had group members who weren't contributing, so I had to take the bulk of the work. 2 am was my waking up time every day; it was really crazy. This is coupled with normal school classes, tests, and even mid-semester exams. Also, while working on the project, the Tech Xplore event came up, and as one of the committee members, I had to participate and still find time to work on my project. It wasn't easy. Another issue was getting hold of my supervisor for corrections and approval. Finally, I did my project defence, and trust me when I say it went well—it was just God's doing.

After the defence, it was time for an academic comeback, so I had to start reading because exams were just 2 weeks after the defence. All glory to God, the exams went well. In summary, I saw “shegee!!” this semester.

Favour, 100L Computer Science

I've not had one complete semester in Babcock but the few months I stayed here have been shege upon shege plus a lovely dash of fun. Firstly, there was the registration which I will gladly lend the motto: “The Struggle is Real”. I had to wake up by 5 am, and leave for registration a little before 6 am to wait for people who start work by 8 am just because of the line. Between the registration and the hustle during special sabbath, however, I will give the most “shegeful” period to the special sabbath hustle. I was on an empty stomach, with no food no water under the piercingly hot sun, and was being pushed front and back, left and right ALL BECAUSE OF RICE AND GBADUN STEW.

Then there was course rep shege, there was a day during my first week as a rep that I almost cried (which is so unlike me) but thanks to my friends and my fellow CS reps, I was able to endure the stress. I learned that mistakes were normal and I learned to accept my mistakes. I think what I learned the most from being a rep is how to accommodate constructive criticisms and shoulder insults.

The story about my semester cannot be complete without mentioning Mr. Babcock Sun. You would leave your room so happy and upon stepping out into the sun, you would start to smell how horrible your day will be already. That sun turns happy moods into sour moods.

I saved the best part of my BU experience thus far for the last - my friends. There are the friends I knew before Babcock. They literally made adjusting to Babcock quite easy, introduced me to people, and were there to advise me when I was in a difficult situation. Then, there are the friends I met in Babcock - La Camarilla❤️❤️; a very amazing group of people that I love so much.

To cap the Babcock experience thus far up are the young male lecturers 👀👀👀. Let me not say much. I'm someone who loves planning and all, but believes by 75% in "going with the flow" so I'd just love to let 2024 happen. Hopefully, by January, I'll be a Microsoft Learn Student Ambassador and would love to make a difference in BUCC from there. I'm looking forward to the elections and events, opportunities, and projects from the communities that I belong to.

Praise, 400L CIS

After just a week's break, and bam, I'm back in school for 400-Level – talk about a roller coaster semester! It's been a mix of cool stuff and stress. Imagine, I almost lost my sense of identity because I had too many group works and presentations; every course, even GEDS, had presentations. The timetable wasn’t helping matters because why did I have 7 am classes every day of the week except Thursdays? Not cool.

Then, Tech Xplore became a thing. Now, I'm on a mission to get sponsors for the event (stress city). Planning this thing took everything we had. Approvals from school, chasing sponsors – it was like running a marathon. Throw in SIWES defence, final-year project, and regular classes – that's a lot on the plate. But it’s what I signed up for, so I had to deal with it. Trying to get sponsors was a whole adventure. After sending out letters and talking to different people concerning sponsorship, some people were still telling me I wasn’t doing well at all; someone lectured me on how if he were in my position, he’d have gotten various companies to sponsor the event. Freshers came in, and we helped them with registration – not as bad as I thought. Then there's the ongoing battle of getting sponsorship and prepping my project for November. Almost got sick, but a big shoutout to GOD.

November hits, and it's like a whirlwind of emotions. Tech Xplore planning, group presentations, assignments, final year projects – no time for a personal life. Presentation here, errands there, and three days without a proper meal. I had to leave the hall as early as 6:40 am, and I got back at least 9 pm – talk about a marathon. But guess what? The event went well. Phew!

Then, mini defence hits, and I was not ready at all, but I knew by Monday night, I’d be ready, which I was. First to present, a bit scary, but it went surprisingly well, done in less than ten minutes. Group presentation the next day., the next week was exam week, meant to be a break from lectures or a time for revision. But plot twist! We were diving into a new topic that week, which was pretty annoying considering we already had a heap of notes. On top of that, I had a presentation scheduled. Interestingly, for the first time in history, BUCC was going to finish exams before other departments – quite impressive. Exams started, and surprisingly, many of them went well.

Despite the crazy ride, this semester had its perks. Loads of happy moments, lots of fun, and for the first time, I showed up at a bunch of events. The highlight of the semester? Tech Xplore, hands down. Met cool people, learned new things, and had a blast. 400 Level first semester? Was good!

Top comments (0)