DEV Community

Chizobaonorh
Chizobaonorh

Posted on

I Am A Web3 Writer Who Doesn't Know Shit About Web3

Before you call me a scam, hear me out!

Image description
Writers are believed to be lovers of their work. You write about what you are passionate about; doing that, you create art and drive heartfelt messages to your audience.
Oops! That wasn't the case when I started writing about Web3.

The Backstory

I wrote my first web3 content when I needed to get whitelisted (WL) for a project. Normally we airdrop hustlers had our ready comments of "LFG!!!", " To the Moon," and our occasional one-line sentence trying to praise the project in order to get whitelisted.

Well, this was different; it was a Primate NFT Solana project. There were three things to do to get WL:

  • Engage actively in the community
    Trust me, this is a non-ending circle of yarns and depression.

  • Fan Arts
    Not your regular Tom and Jerry drawing, you needed an outstanding one, and I wasn't creative. So no…moving on.

  • Twitter threads for engagement
    Yes! It's time. I could do this yuuno; from my regular writing of poems, I could research a project and write something on it that would bring engagement.

So I did that! And guess what? It worked.
Uhm…no, not what you are thinking, I didn't get the whitelist, but people loved it.
I got engagements on the post and comments tagging the founders of the projects to come check out this threadooorrrrrrr.

That was my aha moment; I could be a Web3 writer. I explained this project in a way people loved it, so why not write about the Web3 space in a way people will love it? But remember, I had no idea about Web3.

The Writing Journey

I started and wrote my first article on Consensus Mechanisms.
"Why such a difficult topic, right?"
It was a project I was given to work on in my Defi class, so I was like, "why not make it into an article."
Readers welcomed it with open arms, and I loved it. It gave me a reason to go on and keep "Learning on the job."
Then something happened...

I Landed My First Writing Job

Not in a five-star organization, but one that can influence me and offer me something to anticipate at the end of the month.
But this wasn't my regular article writing; this was crypto news writing…and God knows I didn't know shit!
"Hello, what happened to learning on the job?"
So I started. Ladies and Gentlemen, it was hard.
I was lost in a myriad of repetitive mistakes. I was unfamiliar with the terms and always turned in poorly written content.
As a result, I was dropped.

What Now?

The first few days, I was in a bad place. I wasn't only dropped; I was dropped with a farewell message, "You are a bad writer."
And you guessed it! I cried my eyes out.
I struggled with my self-esteem for days before getting over it.
Here's the catch.
I might not love Web3 now, but there is a reason I became a writer.
"I enjoy simplifying complex concepts for an audience."
This desire was sufficient to propel me onward.
So I started to educate myself about Web3. I was determined to grasp this idea and perhaps fall in love with it.

Let's Get Back To The Present

I have started my research, not superficial research, but in-depth research.
If you are still here reading to this point, there are two things involved.
Either you feel the same way I do, about knowing nothing on Web3 or, you want to see where this article is headed.

Sit back and relax!
I might not understand what Web3 is about or be passionate about it. But guess what? I am ready to explore Web3.
I am ready to research so much that I either fall in or out of love with Web3.

Why Is This Important To You?

This is a journey, but I don't want to walk this journey alone. I have little knowledge about Web3, and so do you, or maybe I am wrong. But we could take this journey together. I am making this sound like a marriage…haha.

Let's make a deal.
To better comprehend this Web3 space, I would conduct extensive study, go through all relevant articles and videos, and enroll in Web3 courses.
Then, all you have to do is show up and get knowledge about it.

I will provide well-structured articles tailored to boost your understanding, and you read them.
Then we can both start our Web3 journey together, guiding each other every step of the way.
Then maybe we might both fall in love with the Web3 space, or perhaps we don't, but at least we explored the space together.

So if you are in, give this article a like, click the follow button and subscribe to get emails when I publish an article.

We gat this!😊

Follow me on Twitter: Chizobaonorh_
Follow me on LinkedIn: Ononlememen Chizoba

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
_bkeren profile image
''

can you edit the title, don't swear in the title!!!