DEV Community

Dipti Gautam
Dipti Gautam

Posted on

Picking off/restarting my #100DaysofCode Challenge

Hi,

Around one and a half month ago, I had wrote my blog post here about getting started with my #100DaysofCode with bash, open source and linux. And I did to it for the first twenty days or so; but I hit a pause on it because I was supposed to give a webinar on April 26th, so I thought I needed more preparation and practice. Even though I did end up putting that preparation on hold till the last minute, I ended up doing a lot of great things outside of tech that have contributed to my physical and emotional well-being.

I have started French on Duolingo for almost two years now; but only now is it that I'm taking it seriously by not only taking a new lesson each day; but also making a short 10-50 second clip of myself speaking in French each day and posting it on my Instagram close friends list. I have also been writing a sentence each day on my journal.

I have started working out regularly, cleaning my workspace and room, and a lot of other healthy habits that have allowed me to feel better about myself and how I'm going about my life these days. And all of these things, I have done in the past twenty days; of which I took that break in. And my most important and biggest achievement has been me being able to create a proper sleep schedule and limit my sleep to a good 8-8.5 hours.

Also, generally; I'd have ticked off my daily to-dos at around 12 AM; after which I'd normally go to sleep, but last night, I finished off well at 11 PM, and even did some extra things that I had been meaning to do. To my surprise, tonight it decreased down to 10; and I was now finally going to prepare for that webinar, but we decided to push it a week further. And this got me thinking about how my healthy habits have made me more productive and now I can bring #100DaysofCode back to my daily schedule!

This time, however, I'm setting myself some ground-rules so that I would be able to keep my sanity and not have to drop midway as I had to the last time. I'm keeping weekends as off-limits because I'm always doing something as long as I'm awake during the weekdays. And amidst 8-hour work, workouts, language learning, and #100DaysofCode, it gets pretty tiring, even though I don't feel it while I'm doing those. That's why I will be reserving those two days for cleaning up, movies, books and simply resting.

Also, last time, since I was very new to the topic, I had kept my goals pretty vague, I believe. I was mixing up too many things at once. This time, I'm focusing on bash, and simply bash. The linux stuff that go on about it including the environment setup or just experimenting with the operating systems will be kept under my personal explorations; and I will not use the time allocated for #100DaysofCode to indulge in those. The same goes for contributing to open source. I will try things as I go, such as participating in Hacktoberfest, slowly exploring the channels where I would be able to contribute, and doing it. I will not pressurize myself into it, rather will focus on exploring them naturally.

I'm resuming my #100DaysofCode challenge officially from tomorrow; and for today, I will just enjoy an episode of The Simpsons and go to bed once I organize my materials to get started with! :D

Top comments (0)