DEV Community

Cover image for Day 210: It's So Hard
HIPHOP and CODE
HIPHOP and CODE

Posted on

Day 210: It's So Hard

liner notes:

  • Professional : Got up SUPER early for a 4am meeting with the Web Components team and another company to talk about their Design System software. They showed us a demo, answered our questions and gave us an account to give it a try. Also had the wider team meeting today and got to demo the application where I integrated Web Components into a React project using Class Components. The demo worked, but my internet connection through my hotspot was pretty bad. haha. Spent the rest of the day getting Web Components to work in a React project using Function Components with Hooks. Been running into an issue where event listeners are being called multiple times. I think I fixed it using the useEffect Hook and removing the listener. Now I'm having an issue with using useState to set the data coming from the Web Component. There's a warning in the browser about the ref value of a Web Component will likely have changed or something. Great, got to do some more research.

  • Personal : After work, I got my roof rail system from the location it was shipped to and took it over to my parents' place where the other solar panel stuff is. While I was there, it was late and spent the night. I listened to some tracks for this weeks radio show and worked on my side project.

View of a green valley in Yanacachi, Bolivia surrounded by mountains

I'll probably look more into why the data isn't being set from the Web Component in the React project. Why it's so hard to use Web Components in a React project with Hooks? No clue. haha I'm sure I'll figure it out. Other than that, I'll be putting together this week's radio show. It takes so long to download the tracks. I need to figure out a better internet situation. haha

Have a great night!

peace piece
Dwane / conshus
https://dwane.io / https://HIPHOPandCODE.com

Top comments (0)