DEV Community

Cover image for Day 44 : Don't Give Up
HIPHOP and CODE
HIPHOP and CODE

Posted on

Day 44 : Don't Give Up

liner notes:

  • Long weekend: So it was the Thanksgiving holiday so I had a long weekend. Just going to condense everything here. Had Thanksgiving and hung out with my folks, that was good. Google had a Black Friday sale for the Pixel Slate that comes with a keyboard and Pixel Pen for free. It wasn't the keyboard that I wanted (they were sold out) so I found it online at half the price. The version of the Pixel Slate that I bought has the most RAM, fastest processor and most memory. On paper, it has the same specs as my Windows laptop that I bought a couple of years back. My plan is to see if I can use the Pixel Slate as a replacement for said Windows Laptop, my older Chromebook, personal MacBook Air and work MacBook Pro. Especially for when I'm traveling. The Pixel Slate should be able to run Linux so I think a lot of the previous hurdles can be surmounted. Over the break, I've been looking to see the software I use (especially for the radio show) could be covered with Apps (Android and Web) and Linux programs. We'll see. It's supposed to arrive today.

Speaking of radio show, did that on Saturday. I wasn't able to do the remote broadcast from the venue, so the artist, Skyzoo, came to the station. Had a really good time. As usual, you can listen to the full show at https://kNOwBETTERHIPHOP.com
Skyzoo posing for a picture at the radio station
Also, broke out the camera and recorded our OFF AIR conversation. You can watch that here and on the website:

Also went to the show after finishing up at the station Had a really good time again and took some video using the GoPro Max and posted to my Instagram account: https://instagram.com/dwane.io

Remainder of the break, took some time to rest up and get ready for the upcoming.

  • Professional : Spent the day working out a way around an issue I came across with the Prize Wheel app. I'm looking into maybe using a Map. Not sure, just been trying some things and doing research. Telling myself 'Don't give up, something will work' haha. Also heard from some coworkers about possible travel dates in the new year, one is international. Also added a conference in Japan that I think would be relevant. Also came up with some ideas for my 2020 roadmap.

  • Personal : This morning, I thought of a new app that I would like to make that aligns with my goal of doing more technical talks/presentation in the new year. First thing I did, looked to see if the URL was available, it was and I bought it. haha Looked into some technologies that I want to use and I think it will come together pretty well.

desert in Death Valley, California

Going to see if I can find a work around for my Prize Wheel app and put together my thoughts into a first draft for my 2020 roadmap. Got my weekly meeting with my manager and want to make sure I've got something to show. Ahhh we're is my Pixel Slate!!!! haha

Have a great night!

peace piece
Dwane / conshus
https://dwane.io / https://HIPHOPandCODE.com

Top comments (0)