DEV Community

fawlid
fawlid

Posted on

Help me with installing Dart

Hello guys
These days I wanna try Dart but I cant install dart-sdk by chocolatey!
Can you help me with this problem?

Picture of Error:

Image description

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
tiguchi profile image
Thomas Werner

You spelled the package name dart_sdk with an underscore. It should be with a dash instead: dart-sdk.

See also: community.chocolatey.org/packages?...

Collapse
 
fawlid profile image
fawlid

Image description
yes that was my mistake but same problem occurred with dart-sdk

Collapse
 
tiguchi profile image
Thomas Werner

Hm, I just found the following page about that package: community.chocolatey.org/packages/...

It mentions that the package is a "pre-release", and that the argument --pre needs to be passed in, too:

choco install dart-sdk --pre
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Can you give that a try?

Thread Thread
 
fawlid profile image
fawlid

I really appreciate you for your helpful guidance but also there is a problem again and I dont know how to hassle out!

Image description

Thread Thread
 
tiguchi profile image
Thomas Werner

That is so weird. So you see somewhere buried in the red text is the URL chocolatey was trying to download, including the download server's error response code "403 Forbidden". For some reason the googleapis.com server does not grant you access to that file. I'm not really all that experienced with Chocolatey (I'm mainly a Linux and Mac OS user), but I assume there are package maintainers and ways to reach out and make them aware of that problem.

You could also copy the URL in the red error message and try to download it using a web browser and see if you get to see a login page from Google that grants you access