DEV Community

Matthias 🤖
Matthias 🤖

Posted on

JavaScript Import in VSCode IntelliSense

I try to set up a JavaScript project in Visual Studio Code.
Everything works fine, except IntelliSense. In my particular case, I added Styled Components and PropTypes, but both packages won't get suggested as import.

I already created a jsconfig.json file in my project root, but that didn't help either.

{
  "compilerOptions": {
    "target": "es6",
    "module": "commonjs",
    "jsx": "react",
    "allowSyntheticDefaultImports": true
  },
  "exclude": ["node_modules", "public", ".cache"]
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Is there anything else I need to configure, or do I have to install an extension?

Would be awesome if anyone can help 🥳

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
t7yang profile image
t7yang • Edited

code has no idea about the package inside node_modules, even in TypeScript, so you have to install types for those packages you need types declaration. You can manually install @types/styled-components, then code can provide auto import via its type definition.

img

Collapse
 
matthias profile image
Matthias 🤖

Does that work in JavaScript projects?

Collapse
 
t7yang profile image
t7yang

Yes, my screen capture is a JavaScript project not a TypeScript project.

Collapse
 
matthias profile image
Matthias 🤖

Thank you!

The problem however is, that VSCode does not include the auto import options in the IntelliSense menu (see my screenshot in the article).