DEV Community

goatmale
goatmale

Posted on

Three things from today - 9/9

9/9/2019

Monday - last Monday before vacay :D

Hello everyone, I am just a week out from a week long Vegas vacation!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! - what can I say, i'm excited.

Hopefully your 9/9 is filled with nine nines of uptime.

OK - As the kids say (they don't) - let's get "learnt" up 🤢🤢

Three things that I learned & found handy today:

1. Handy reverse interview reference questions

This was posted on HN. I am a big fan of asking questions during interviews, this is a nice starter list of questions to ask. Don't be the guy that says "I don't have any questions". It makes you look like you don't care and it just generally doesn't lead to good discussion.
reverse-interview

One question that I don't see listed here that I saw posted on the Chicago tech community slack a while back was to ask the interviewer what brought you in. This kind of gives you an idea of what they think your strong suits are and you're able to reinforcece that to them.

2. Ubuntu and bluetooth issues

Some seriously helpful tips with getting bluetooth issues resolved.

Great info on how bluetooth works, and how to fix the darn headset when it's not working right.

3. Azure / AWS tips

Some quick Azure / AWS issues / tips I found today.

  • Azure - If you are unable to see the full list of VM sizes when trying to resize a VM in Azure, you may need to fully deallocate the VM. My thought is that this is probably limited to only the Hyper-V cluster that the machine is running on when the VM is running but deallocating allows it to be pushed to any host.

  • AWS - I found out today that you aws eks update-kubeconfig MERGES CONFIGS!!!

aws eks update-kubeconfig --name my-awesome-cluster
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

This is super handy if you use kubectx to manage multiple kubeconfigs as I do. Also pretty handy if you have a terminal like spacefish which displays the current context.

See you party people Tomorrow!!

Top comments (0)