DEV Community

HaxNet
HaxNet

Posted on

Object Storage & NextCloud

If you are like me, I am obsessed with cloud storage spaces. I even have a Lifetime 2TB storage where I am nowhere close to using that amount of space, but I like to know that I have that space available. But it isn't a site that I can call my own.

I wanted to have my own URL focused on cloud.

A big help from the Fosstodon community to help me pick a good reliable Storage server to use. I already have my shared webhosting which is very limited in storing files because it's not really allowed when they offer unlimited space.

I also didn't want to use Google Drive or Dropbox or the likes anymore.

I am a complete noob on this whole thing. I felt like I was constantly missing pieces of the information.

I am using a S3 as my primary Object Storage and using NextCloud as the platform as you can see in the screenshot
Alt Text

A few things you will need:

  1. get a S3 account
  2. get a domain name
  3. get a web hosting server
  4. download nextcloud server
  5. download nextcloud client on your desktop and/or mobile to auto-upload.

Extract the zip to your web server and edit the config.php. Also create a storage.config.php to linked your s3 account to the nextcloud. This way s3 will be your primary storage and not your web server.

For a limited amount of users, I am offering free 10GB cloud storage through tekniq.cloud
I will create the account for you, just follow me and message me or email me.
I am not making this available to the public.

Top comments (0)