DEV Community

Atulit Anand
Atulit Anand

Posted on

Mongodb or sql

Hi, I've been learning web development on my own for quite a while now. I definitely need a lot of practice but right now I am just gathering tools to start my first project.

I wanna learn a database but I am not able to choose between mongodb and SQL.

Up untill a few days back, I was learning node and express from Colt Steele's bootcamp but I got stuck at the mongodb part so I switched to SQL because my peers adviced me to do so, and soon after I started doubting myself. I have made some projects as well but those were just mere code alongs and I don't wanna impose fake knowledge on myself.
I am just confused, I wanna make a project to cheer my self up and your advice would mean a lot.

I just believe in fact that " Till you won't ask ans will always be a big fat NO. "

Thanks for reading this.
Have a great day.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
maxinejs profile image
Maxine

I just started sql, I think it's a little fun personally. Either way you can do it!

Collapse
 
icecoffee profile image
Atulit Anand • Edited

I can't thank you enough my friend
mongo db store data in similar fashion as js objects but nesting them is real PIA.

Collapse
 
maxinejs profile image
Maxine

currently using sqlite3

Thread Thread
 
icecoffee profile image
Atulit Anand

Thanks