DEV Community

Isaac Hatilima
Isaac Hatilima

Posted on

Flask and/or Django

Hello everyone. I have a few questions,

  1. What are your thoughts on Flask and/or Django?
  2. Which one do you prefer between the two.
  3. In your opinion which one is the best?

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
otumianempire profile image
Michael Otu

Flask is good and django is better. Flask can be better though.

Collapse
 
isaachatilima profile image
Isaac Hatilima

I want to start learning how to make APIs with python. Would you recommend I use Django in stead?

Collapse
 
otumianempire profile image
Michael Otu

I have used both flask and Django. I used flask mostly because it was quicker to implement what I wanted with a lot of movement.

If you are starting out, you may start with flask, then Django. You'd realize that flask and Django has a lot in common.

Start with the cs50 flask course - I learnt a lot from it. Use the flask doc too...

Collapse
 
eric23 profile image
Eric

Look at FastAPI. It's like Flask.

Thread Thread
 
otumianempire profile image
Michael Otu

I would say use flask. This is actually because I did not see anything that was so different from the flask apps I have written/seen so far.

Collapse
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen