DEV Community

JackMacWindows
JackMacWindows

Posted on

Hello, dev.to!

Hi, I'm JackMacWindows, a C++ and Lua programmer who focuses on embedded and low-level system programming. I've been coding for over 10 years, starting with C++ as an elementary schooler. (That was quite a choice for young me!) Since then, I've learned a lot about all sorts of programming and computer topics, from compression algorithms and networking layers, to music synthesis and video transcoding.

My main passion right now is working with the ComputerCraft mod for Minecraft, which adds a flexible Lua-based fantasy terminal to the game. I'm most known for CraftOS-PC, a cross-platform desktop and mobile C++ app which recreates the ComputerCraft environment outside Minecraft. I'm currently working on writing an operating system for it called Phoenix, which aims to implement a full-fledged POSIX/Linux-like environment all in Lua.

Outside of ComputerCraft coding, I also like to make various little utilities, apps and devices. One of those was DashBot, a genetic machine learning bot that plays Geometry Dash. iRCON, an iOS app for remotely administering Minecraft servers, has been on my mind recently, and I'm contemplating putting it on the App Store. I also gained some notoriety in the game music ripping scene for my UnkrawerterGBA project, as well as my work on ripping music from the Club Penguin DS games. My favorite non-ComputerCraft project recently has been my MIDI synthesizer/sound generator, which taught me a lot about developing for microcontrollers.

I'm planning on using this page as a blog/journal of things that I'm working on. I've wanted to have a place to be able to dump my mind after a good day of coding, and dev.to seems like a nice place to o that. Expect my posts to usually be more of a ramble about things, but every so often I might post a longer-form "essay" of sorts about a certain topic.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
ra_jeeves profile image
Rajeev R. Sharma

Welcome to the community @jackmacwindows. Hope you've a great experience here :-)