DEV Community

Jimster397
Jimster397

Posted on

My Reason Why

When I was younger I knew I always wanted to do something with computers but I was never sure what I wanted to do. At first it was building computers, like hardware or lego pieces. At 16 I built my first computer and I was extremely proud of myself. I found some much satisfaction out of building something that I could operate and I started devoting myself to researching more and more about computer hardware and future careers. Over the course of the next two years I found out that depending on the area of computer engineering a person would take on heavily relied upon their math level. In HS, I was always decent at math but comparatively to other people in these fields I was far behind everyone else. So I figured I needed to get a decent education in order to pursue these dreams and I found my interest in physics in my senior year of HS. I was elated by physics and wanted to pursue it. I studied at community college for 3 years to transfer to UCSD. My major was sociology but at UCSD I planned on switching that major to something I actually wanted to pursue. I got in, and quickly scheduled a meeting with a counselor. In my meeting with them, they had told me that all transfer students could not switch majors if completing the major requirements took longer than 2 years and that this policy was implemented the year I got in. Essentially, no matter how much money I would be willing to spend to stay at UCSD they would not accept it, I was shattered. I felt like the world was crashing on top of me that all this time building to go to UCSD and do something with computers would never come to fruition. I completed my sociology degree cause I came to realize that my degree would show that I am capable of dedicating myself to education. I have always had this dream of pursuing computers but I never pushed myself to get into the field until I decided to take the plunge at Flatiron school. That is my reason why. My reason why is because this is my dream and I want to be able to show my friends and family that I am capable of pursuing my dream.

Top comments (0)