DEV Community

John Melody Me
John Melody Me

Posted on • Updated on

How to send message to specific discord channel from your server application?

How to send message to specific discord's channel from your server application?

Had you wonder how to send the log / messages from the server application to discord channel? In my personal poject I use NodeJs for the server side, each of the important details from the server will be sent to my discord's channel. For instance, each time my user made a payment or register for my app. I am about to demonstrate how exactly I did it.

I use the ES6 dicipline for my application.

Packages I will be using are axios, and nodemon.

  1. Initiate a project by npm init -y.
  2. get the webhok url by going to your channel's settings -> integration -> create webhook.
  3. start coding.

In this case I will use the method of HTTP POST request to the webhook.
As in bash you can simply do :

#!/bin/sh
url = "thewebhookurl"

curl -H "Content-Type: application/json" -X POST -d '{"content":"'"YOUR WHAT EVER MESSAGE "'"}' $url

Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

but in nodejs,


 log(msg) {
        let webhook_url = 'thewebhoooklink';

        let params = {
            username: 'ABC',
            content: msg,
        };

        return axios({
            method: 'POST',
            headers: {
                'Content-Type': 'application/json',
            },
            data: JSON.stringify(params),
            url: webhook_url,
        });
    }
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

and it should work but calling the function log('something something');

or YOu can user my package here https://www.npmjs.com/package/discord-logger-js

HAPPY CODING!

Top comments (0)