DEV Community

kim-jos
kim-jos

Posted on

My First Impression of Angular

My first impression of Angular is that it's a lot bulkier than other frameworks. There's more "Angular" syntax that you have to get used to.

You can realize how bulky Angular is just by creating a simple component. When you create an Angular component using the Angular CLI it automatically creates 4 files for you: 1) the html file, 2) the css file, 3) the typescript file, and 4) the test file. I made a couple apps in Vue and all the logic, css, and html are in one file which I think makes it more convenient.

Also Angular has a lot of syntax that you have to get used to. For example, Angular uses a decorator function that generates three metadata properties 1) element selector, 2) templateUrl(html), and 3) styleUrl(CSS styles). In React, you just have to import the css file but in Angular you have to use a decorator function. Although it is done automatically by Angular, the syntax is quite different from anything in React of Vue.

I did read that Angular's advantage is that it's a framework meaning that it has built-in capabilities such as state management, http request functions, server-side rendering, etc. which saves time. Also, the architecture of Angular projects are very similar everywhere.

I did write a couple posts trying to learn Vue but I recently got a job where I have to use Angular. So, I will document my progress learning Angular from now on.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
joellau profile image
Joel Lau

that was my first impression as well!

however, it slowly grew on me over the last year, seeing how well established patterns were in this framework and how everything already has a place keeps things simple when working in a team

Collapse
 
jdgamble555 profile image
Jonathan Gamble

The fact that everything is separated is a huge plus. You can, however, put everything in one file if you prefer. Angular is powerful out of the box. It is best for any large application by far.