DEV Community

James
James

Posted on

I'm James, and I don't want to talk about myself.

I tried writing about myself and the things I want to see, but I couldn't really find anything I was comfortable with. I don't think I'm really the person to teach others how to be a good ally. I don't know what I'm doing.

My only advice is to amplify people different than yourself. If there's something you want to say and someone else has already said it, don't speak over them or repeat it just so it can be a tiny picture of your face next to the words. Use your platform to amplify them.

Jessica Rose [WebsiteTwitter]
One of the most inspiring people I follow. Jessica always seems to have time to help people and organise within the community.

Sandi Metz [WebsiteTwitter]
Almost everything I managed to absorb about OOP came from Sandi Metz. Her books belong on every shelf.

Caroline Ada Ehmke [WebsiteTwitter]
Created the contributor covenant. Fights seemingly fearless and tirelessly for decency in tech.

Ali Spittel [WebsiteTwitter]
A prolific writer and helper. Seeing her get a role at DEV.to after being so involved in the community was awesome.

Emma Wedekind [WebsiteTwitter]
Another super prolific DEV.to writer. It's difficult to visit this site without benefiting from something she wrote.

Amy (Sailor Mercury) [WebsiteTwitter]
A programmer who creates zines explaining tech concepts, clothes, and more.

Liz Fong Jones [WebsiteTwitter]
Another tireless campaigner for decency in tech. Has been most recently helping me by live-tweeting conference talks in awesome detail.

Happy International Women's Day.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
aspittel profile image
Ali Spittel

Thank you so much for including me among some of my heroes, and for amplifying the voices of women!

Collapse
 
jsrn profile image
James

No, thank you.