DEV Community

Lizz Katsnelson
Lizz Katsnelson

Posted on

Nevertheless, Lizz Coded

My story...

I graduated from a 10 month coding bootcamp in 2017. Afterwards, I spent way too long in a job I didn't want. I believe that was entirely due to imposter syndrome. In 2018, I decided to take a chance and quit that job with nothing lined up to try and get the job I wanted.

Results...


This is a photo of me one hour after receiving a rejection from what I thought was my dream job! I got to travel to Oahu, Hawaii for that interview, so I felt lucky that I could climb this mountain and get over it. It gets better: I got a way more exciting offer from another company the same day! I was convinced I had bombed the interview for that company, but I was wrong!

My message to those out there who are still grinding...

Don't lose hope! I was able to gain confidence by practicing solving algorithms and working on a personal project in the technologies I was most interested in. Also, don't be afraid to apply for jobs you don't think you are qualified for. You might just end up getting to travel somewhere tropical!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
helenanders26 profile image
Helen Anderson

What a fantastic story, thanks for sharing and encouraging others

Collapse
 
charbelsako profile image
Charbel Sarkis

Good for you.