DEV Community

Mike
Mike

Posted on

I'm sorry, also I made a thing.

tldr; links at the bottom.

First I'd like to apologize to anyone that was expecting a lot more content from me. I'm really kind of a recluse and just stay to myself. I prefer to lock myself in a room and code and if I come up with something that I am happy with I will share with others. If anyone wants to know more about me, please feel free to reach out I don't mind chatting with anyone. And now..

This..

I made a game, well am tinkering with a game. It's a block defender game, I found a tutorial for a similar game using the Godot game engine by TheBuffEd on youtube. (Links for everything will be below.) I looked at the application that he was creating when he demo'd the game and I bet myself I could make that in p5js. And here's what I've come up with. Now, don't go getting all excited about a new cool game. This is just simple geometry, no sound, no images and I mean it's just basic. I'm sharing it because really I need more motivation to keep going. I've spent the last two days working out the mechanics and it seems solid, now is the time for refinement and I'm kindof at the "eh, it works" point lol!..

So the game works like so, you click a colored block at the bottom, then click in the lane that has a matching falling block. If you yeet the falling block out of existence then you get a point. If the falling block yeets itself out of existence by getting to the bottom, then you will loose a point. If you have 0 points and loose a point it's game over bud.

Below will be the links for this project.

The game
The code
The Godot tutorial

Top comments (0)