DEV Community

Cover image for How do I become a programmer again?
George Munuka
George Munuka

Posted on

How do I become a programmer again?

This is probably going to be unbelievable to most of you, but bear with me. I learned (self taught) HTML, CSS and Python in the past but have forgotten most of it. I’m literally on zero and it hurts. Plus, I don’t know where to start from again.

You see, I haven’t touched a single line of code in all over five years! Due to a career change. I couldn’t find a job as a programmer in my country. Back then, there wasn’t much need for programmers. Majority of companies and employers just needed basic tech like dynamic websites that could be easily built with WordPress. Hence, the only “code” I’ve touched has been tiny CSS and a dash of HTML when making adjustments that a theme or plugin missed out.

So, what advice can you give me as a newbie? I would like to start all over again and become a data analyst at least. I’m so done with being a social worker and part time freelance WordPress designer. Any helpful insights and advice rendered will be highly appreciated. Please, take me as a noob and complete novice – over 5 years is a very long time.

I’m in dire need of a career change like yesterday. Your input will change my life. Side note: I’m using a Windows 10 laptop with a fifth gen Core i5 processor – I thought I share as you recommend tools or IDEs. Thank you in anticipation.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
anderspersson profile image
Anders Persson • Edited

Hi!
Coding is about solving a problem, so the language is just a tool.

So witch language to start with is not the no 1 questions, just start over with Python, but focus on Python 3 (Python 2 is old now).

Pick a problem you like to solve, use Python and when you get stuck search for it.
Don't have any problems to solve? use CodeWars (codewars.com) which is a site with a lot of small problems to solve, it start easy and gets harder the more you solve.
When you have solve a problem, you se other solutions.

Tools for many language today i Visual Studio Code, witch have a lot of plugins for diffrent language, witch is great.

Collapse
 
munukag profile image
George Munuka

Thank you so much for your assistance. I highly appreciate this. 🙏🏿🙏🏿