DEV Community

deepu
deepu

Posted on • Updated on

Ask Dev community: License Key Generation

After dealing with Paddle's service customer support, I've given up the idea of integrating the service; the major reason for using Paddle was to use their license key APIs.

I am thinking to build my own License key generation. But I am new to backend development, looking some guidance on architecture level or things that I don't know I should consider.

Below are the following services I am planning to build

1. License Registration - Register the license key for the first time

When user inputs the license key and purchaser’s email, it validates with the backend based on machine’s serial id to determine if it is the first time registration or not.

2. License Unregistration - Un-register the license key from the device.

Let’s say if user decides to use the app on another machine then user has to unregister the current device.

3. License Update Registration -_ Register new device for the same key_

Basically user re-registers their key on a new device.

4. License Verification - Validation every X hours
Validate every X hours to check if the app has the right key on right machine.

5. License Revocation - Invalidate the key
When a refund is successful, revoke the existing license key.

What do y'all think?
You can DM me here, if you want to share your view in private.

Top comments (0)