DEV Community

Radio Azureus
Radio Azureus

Posted on • Updated on

Building a programming ENV: in 2K19 II

()Revision tracking added to **git*. This is how text editing should be controlled

As I said the last time having a smooth programming ENV: is important when you want to program on whatever machine (on your network) you are on.

The reason is obvious. I want to be able to code in between work / simulation / play & stream sessions. Even tiny snips of 15mins to 30 mins are benificial to me.

One annoying problem of different cloud techs is that they want CC-info (think breaches), so I dont want that data spread everywhere) yet I have to learn 2 play with them somehow, at least those which give you a chance to.

IBMCloud seems to play nice since they tell you what you can do on their network.

It may in the end be like the student licence from ACAD but that one has the following benefits:

  • fully functional systems
  • you may download everything, save all files
  • literally the whole software suit at your disposal for three years, so you can study everything
  • the only catch is printing, that will show that you used a student licence, which is quite fine, since you can work with the program suite

AWS

With open-source cloud techs like #AWS you are not allowed to fully test their stuff. Those guys want CC info.

Amazon has the following benefits:

  • fairly good CC info protection
  • you probably buy stuff there already so you have a card entered there also
  • large network, lots of redundancy (good tech support?)

The downside for users like me

  1. impossible to test, for some reason it fails for me to activate #AWS
  2. No testrun of all means no way of learning how to use the cloudtech there.
  3. opensource software effectively locked away behind a commercial veil.
  4. Annoyance rises everytime I want to test it out ;)

I can run a free fully functional bash in a browser
https://console.cloud.google.com/cloudshell at google

I did not know that it was in fact a free #docker container at my disposal.

Finally I can run some cloud tech in some capacity

A full blown docker container!

As you can imagine I am seriously making time to play with this, since I don't need to run the server side for it (I dont have a free headless linux server anymore)

Notes:
(*)I love how it's now a breeze to keep the revisions of my markdown files in check.

All I need to do is enter $ git commit -a

Then I uncomment the line(s) with the revised file(s).

After a while I type:

$ git status

to see how many commits my branch is ahead. Then I can commence with $ git push to sync it all up with git.
Sweet and oh so neat ;)

This doc is now considered completed. I shall move to the next one now.

#301daysofcode #100DaysOfCode #Linux #advancedprogramming hashtags on twitter

A fully synced update of this post resides here https://github.com/AmigaGPU/fat-agnus/blob/master/2019-04-04-building-a-programming-env-in-2k19-ii.md

This is part-II of the series in which I will publish this thread

Top comments (0)