DEV Community

Cover image for Flutter vs React Native
Roberto Orozco
Roberto Orozco

Posted on

Flutter vs React Native

Hi community! There are multiple multi-platform frameworks to develop mobile apps nowadays, but personally, I think the main battle will be between these two.

What are your thoughts? Which one do you prefer and why?

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
rleija_ profile image
Ruben • Edited

I've only used React Native a handful of times. And zero with Flutter but I have seen some videos on it.

But if you know React then React Native is a breeze!

I put my money on React Native because React is the hottest tool and that's going to drag React Native with it.

Collapse
 
learnwithparam profile image
Paramanantham Harrison • Edited

I have published few apps with react native and also took a course for flutter.
I like flutter because of packages and simple to construct UI for both ios and android.

The only difference I see is,

  • flutter like any other google framework have rules to be followed and in mobile development, this is a huge win for simple cross-platform apps. It might not be the case in web development. But the web and mobile development experience are very different.
  • If you want more custom apps through react native or flutter, there is no standout winner since you have to create a lot of things custom anyway.

For simple apps with elegant platform UI, I bet on flutter (dart isn't that difficult)
If you are already familiar with React, react native is a good first choice. But upgrading and looking for well-maintained packages are painfully hard. The community and packages aren't as strong as the flutter in react native.

For example, there is no production ready up-to-date package for Google AdMob in react native. The only way for it is to add through firebase react native package and that package is also not up-to-date always.
If this is the case for AdMob, you think about other ad companies and their SDK.

It's my own opinion and I didn't develop any rocket science either. These are my apps in google store. It was developed using react native.

play.google.com/store/apps/develop...

Collapse
 
anchalmalikk profile image
aanchal malik

As per my views and understanding;
Flutter and React Native are two leading frameworks for mobile app building. Reason?
There are tons of reasons.

Flutter is a Software development kit(SDK) developed by Google. It helps developers to build iOS & Android applications using a single code base.
React Native is built by another tech giant Facebook to create mobile applications without compromising the look and feel of the apps.
Here I have explained the difference between the two deeply and clearly.
excellentwebworld.com/flutter-vs-r...

Collapse
 
sudiukil profile image
Quentin Sonrel

I've worked a little with Flutter and did nothing more than googling about React but I think Flutter probably has a nice future ahead, being developed by Google and all, it may very well become the standard for developing Android apps one day if it sticks with devs.