DEV Community

Cover image for Push Code and Get Assignment 😍 (⚠️Lazy People Only...)
Shreyam Maity
Shreyam Maity

Posted on

Push Code and Get Assignment 😍 (⚠️Lazy People Only...)

So, it all started from my college. But first. Let's be honest. I'm a lazy guy. I just find ways to skip works. And try to find easy ways to live my life. So when it comes to writing assignments, um you know what I would do.

So the thing is , I've noted one thing. My professor give us few questions to code and then make an assignment out of it which just contains my code , the working snaps and the question. But making the these things is too much work for a guy like me. Though it's just copy paste but still I have to do the same repetitive task again and again for a whole semester or may be for a whole year.

And here comes the GitHub actions. So what I do is , I store my codes and snaps in my local repository and then push it to GitHub. And GitHub Actions gets files from my last commit and form an assignment for me then sent it to my email so that I can just submit it. 😊

FUN FACT - Code and this github actions is reusable and easily configurable 🎭

My Workflow

Image description

Instructions

Submission Category:


Wacky Wildcards (this is just a lazy people's bot XD)

Yaml File or Link to Code

name: Assignmenty Mailer
on: 
push:
    branches:
    - main
workflow_dispatch:
jobs:
mailer:
    runs-on: ubuntu-latest
    steps:
    - uses: actions/checkout@v2
        with:
        fetch-depth: 2
    - uses: ShreyamMaity/Assignmenty@main 
        with:
        MAILID : 'sample@gmail.com' #mail if of your choice
        FILENAME : 'assignment' #assignment file name
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Still Want to Learn More?

  • Here you go lazy person 👇🏻

    GitHub logo ShreyamMaity / Assignmenty

    Just Code and Push , Leave The Assignment Part on us....

    Assignmenty Bot

    Star Badge


    Just Code and Push , Leave The Assignment Part on us....Happy Coding </>

    Assignmenty.mp4
    • This is a GitHub Action to create your assignment automatically with the help of git version control.

    • It takes code and snaps from your latest commit and make it an assignment and send you in mail📧

    • This action runs in a Docker container and therefore only supports Linux🐧

    • Watch Full Config Video Here


    Prep Work

    1. Create you coding assignments like or Watch Config Video Here
      ``` This is Your Question , Write Questions like this```
      
      def code():
          this is your code. Just code anything
      
      Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
    2. Save the code file as assignment12.py or assignment34.py

      This action currently supports only Python Code Assignments 🐍
      but this GitHub Action can me modified for any code based asssignments.Feel free to contribute.🤗

      • You can use this example to work it out…

Additional Resources / Info

Maintainer and Owner


Bonus Tip :
Don't Tell Anyone About It 🤫

Top comments (0)