DEV Community

Eugene Fenyuk
Eugene Fenyuk

Posted on

Your IDE or TextEditor: WHY?

Hello, community!

Today I ask you to share your thoughts about your IDE or TextEditor.
E.g. your way to choose your working tool, previous experience of using some tools, pros\cons etc.
Please, don't start another holywar (let's try at least :) )

Let me start.
I'm using JetBrains WebStorm as my main IDE, and SublimeText for simple code manipulations. From "in-terminal" editors I prefer Nano. I've tried a lot of different tools in the past, such as NetBeans, Eclipse, LightTable, VSCode, etc. But still i'm with WebStorm cause of comfortable refactoring powers, beautiful visualisation (new MaterialUI themes is awesome) and sometimes high RAM consuming( ;) )

Just share your thoughts. I'm really interested in your experience.

Peace

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
keptoman profile image
mlaj

It's Sublime text 3 for me. I love their keyboard shortcuts, editing multiple lines at the same time and very fast regex search.

I have to switch programming languages multiple times a day, and it's very easy with this editor. I never liked working with an IDE.

There's also a lot of good packages available.

Collapse
 
softwareeugeneer profile image
Eugene Fenyuk

Thanks for reply!

Can you share your plugin list please?

When I've workedwith PHP ZendFramework i use sublime as main editor, and there was a problem with autocomplete plugins, but project structure was so well done so i almost always knew which classes or functions I can use :D

Collapse
 
rachelsoderberg profile image
Rachel Soderberg

I use Visual Studio with Resharper. No particular reason... it's what I was "raised on" academically and I never saw any reason to change.