DEV Community

Cover image for The Importance Of Collaborating
SonteEvans
SonteEvans

Posted on • Updated on

The Importance Of Collaborating

We're all guilty of portraying false confidence or acting like we know what we're doing, even though that's not the case. Three days into Phase One at Flatiron School, I learned a few different lessons. That saved me from calling it quits on my journey to becoming a Software Engineer.

Understanding the fundamentals of Javascript such as variables, arrays, objects, and arrow functions had my brain doing summer salts. Following along with labs I couldn't help the thought of falling behind and biting off more than I could chew.

**const filmBox = document.querySelector("#film-box");
const likes = document.querySelector("#like-count");
const EMPTY_HEART = "♡";
const FULL_HEART = "♥";**
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

When encountering 'const and 'let' for the first time, I couldn't wrap my head around which to use, when, and why after reviewing the material provided and using resources such as google and my now favorite website for information w3schools. I just gave in and did what should have been done to save myself the headache and admit I needed help. I swallowed my pride and asked my fellow peers. Come to find out; they were in the same. Exact. Boat.

The most valuable lesson I gained from Phase One was several brains are better than one. Coding is one of those things; it's a never-ending journey of learning. Naturally, you won't know everything; it's impossible but what's great is that someone will have a better understanding if you don't know. For example, working with my peers, we broke 'const' and 'let' down in a way we could understand. Both can be used anywhere within your code and will only work correctly with them. However, what separates the two is once 'const' has a variable assigned, it cannot be redeclared nor reassigned. As for 'let' a variable must be declared before use. It is a straightforward concept that only gets easier to understand once put into practice.

I may not have exampled the purpose of 'const' and 'let the best, but please understand that you are not alone on your journey into this new career. Reach out to your peers because there is a high possibility they are just as confused as you. Use your resources and ask your instructors if you head a wall. Not all battles have to be conquered alone.

Top comments (0)