DEV Community

Cover image for Documenting my learning journey
Ekemini Samuel
Ekemini Samuel

Posted on

Documenting my learning journey

document > create šŸ“ˆ

Iā€™ve observed a trend šŸ“‰ that has been going on in my life for some time now. Whenever I decide to learn something new such as reading a book, learning to code or signing up for a course online/boot camp, for the first 1-2 weeks Iā€™m all pumped up about learning but I donā€™t keep track of my progress. So by the time I want to resume learning I have to start all over again and the cycle continues. This supposed ā€œhabitā€ has literally kept me in one spot and itā€™s high time I did something about it.
Learning is a process of obtaining new knowledge or improving on what you already know. While we can choose to learn in different methods and procedures, keeping a track record of your growth and processes is something I think makes learning efficient. It also keeps you better informed about your performance and accountable
Gary Veeā€™s DOCUMENT. don't create method is what I will be using for my learning journey by documenting everything I learn and making it count. Documenting is a version of creating that is more about being yourself.
Breaking it down, this could be done by writing a note of what was learnt at the end of every day or after reading/practicing.
Another way to get really accountable is by making people aware of what you're up to in terms of learning.
It gives us something we could refer back to in 2, 4 years from now, a whole log of the starting process.
Itā€™s all part of telling a storyā€¦your story! We often feel it is better to spend more time doing background work and creating something great. Documenting keeps track of all the processes, ups and downs which informs you better.
As Gary Vee said: ā€œStarting is the most important part and the biggest hurdle that most people are facing. They're pondering and strategizing instead of making. They're debating what's going to happen when they haven't even looked at what's in front of themā€.
In the coming days and weeks for starters, I intend on documenting and keeping updates on my learning journey. Iā€™ll begin my coding journey by learning ā€œGoā€- a programming language.
I believe I have the resources I need, I just need to put them to use and documenting my journey is the way forward.
I choose to tell my story by documenting my journey!ā­

Top comments (11)

Collapse
 
seif_sekalala_81e09fe6b9e profile image
Seif Sekalala • Edited

The coding journey is definitely arduousā€”almost ā€œan odyssey,ā€ even! But we can do itā€”hang in there, and keep chugging along! You got this.
ā€”ā€”ā€”ā€”ā€”
Itā€™s an interesting coincidence that Iā€™ve discovered yr post, btw. My portfolio page is going to be built around the struggles of learning coding, data-sci, and project-mgt. Iā€™ll share the deetz asap.

Collapse
 
envitab profile image
Ekemini Samuel

Thanks a lot! We got this.
I think it's more than a coincidence.
It's going to be a great portfolio, please share the deetz.

Collapse
 
seif_sekalala_81e09fe6b9e profile image
Seif Sekalala • Edited

Oh, I will (share the portfolio site deetz, etc.). Iā€™m Seif (pronounced ā€œSafeā€) btw, a chill nerdy dude in Philly. Ntmy. Sorryā€”as you can see, bro-man here is mad old fashioned, introducing himself and whatnot! šŸ¤£

Thread Thread
 
envitab profile image
Ekemini Samuel

Okay Seif. Ntmy.šŸ˜
Btw, introducing yourself isn't old fashioned! šŸ˜‡

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Coding journeys are always fun to follow good luck with that.

Collapse
 
envitab profile image
Ekemini Samuel

Thank you Andrew!

Collapse
 
tmchuynh profile image
Tina Huynh

Looking forward to seeing the progression of your journey! Keep at it!

Collapse
 
envitab profile image
Ekemini Samuel

Thank you Tina! šŸ˜Š

Collapse
 
envitab profile image
Ekemini Samuel

Enjoy the learning process! šŸ™‚

Collapse
 
gervanna profile image
Gervanna Stephens

Can't wait to see what your documentation will look like! Good luck

Collapse
 
envitab profile image
Ekemini Samuel

Thanks for the support Gervanna!
I'm also looking forward to it. āœŒšŸ¾